Twelve Days of Christmas Challenge

I first got the idea to do a 12 Days of Christmas challenge from my sister.  Last year she and her hubby made a different Christmas craft or recipe for 12 days leading up to Christmas, and I was inspired to try something like this myself.  2011 has been a very fun and exciting year for my family, but lately we’ve been extra busy.  So, I’m taking the next few weeks to unwind, enjoy some extra family time with my loved ones, and do lots of Christmassy things to get us in the Christmas spirit.  I thought it would be fun to see if any of you other mamas would want to take the 12 Days of Christmas challenge with me.  You can personalize your list however you’d like, or you can follow along with mine!  I will be sure to follow-up and let you all know how I did in my next QCMB post.  🙂  Some of the projects on my list are easy, some are more challenging, some are for me, some are for my son, and some are for all of us to enjoy as a family!  I am going to start my challenge on December 13th, so my 12th day falls on Christmas Eve.

Here is what I’ve got planned…

1.  Tuesday, 12/13: Make a Christmas craft with Brody – Marie had a great post the other day on QCMB with some fun crafts to try, or I might check out Pinterest for some ones to do with my one-year-old, too.

2.  Wednesday, 12/14: Bake a Christmas treat – I’m no Betty Crocker, so this will be a challenge for me, in itself!  🙂

3.  Thursday, 12/15:  Read a Christmas story to Brody – We don’t have any children’s Christmas books at my house…can you believe that?!  I will have to go get some…soon!  Thanks for Erin’s help in her post from here.

4.  Friday, 12/16: Christmas date with the hubby – Just us two, out to dinner and a movie, or maybe even dinner at home and a glass of wine – but a night just for us!

5.  Saturday, 12/17: Make a Holiday cocktail! – Hy-Vee has a couple great recipes in their recent “Seasons” magazine …”The Grinch”, “Winter’s Eve Sangria”, “Candy Cane Martini”, yummmm…

6.  Sunday, 12/18: Make some gooey cinnamon rolls, some Peppermint Mocha coffee, and snuggle up with my boys in the living room next to the Christmas tree – This one will be easy.  😉

7.  Monday, 12/19: Sing Christmas Carols -Ok, probably won’t be going outside “carolling”, but I love Christmas music, so I’ll sing and dance with Brody to some of my favorites!

8.  Tuesday, 12/20: Buy a gift for someone less fortunate and bring it to a donation site – Jen posted lots of great options for this the other day here.

9.  Wednesday, 12/21:  Play with Brody in the snow!  – This one might have to change if the weather doesn’t cooperate.

10.  Thursday, 12/22:  Drive around town to look at all the pretty Christmas lights – Where are the best places nearby to go?

11.  Friday, 12/23:  Make some homemade hot cocoa – I’m usually just an instant hot cocoa girl, but I have always wanted to make some homemade!

12.  Saturday, 12/24:  Go to a Christmas Eve church service – I think it’s important not to forget the TRUE meaning of Christmas, so I thought I’d end my challenge by remembering and recognizing this very special birthday.  🙂

Anyone else up for the challenge?  Who’s with me?

5 thoughts on “Twelve Days of Christmas Challenge

  1. Well I’m up for the challenge; I’m going to use some of yours as well as do some of my own on other days! We will have to keep each other in check! 😉
    Also to help with your Christmas light tour here are some ideas…..1st off if you want to go on the 11th to do this, it’s Luminary night so Oakbrook (my neighborhood) and Kimberly Village (my in-laws neighborhood) does this so the streets will be extra filled with holiday beauty. However if you just want to stick to your day I would still suggest those 2 neighborhoods. There is a house on the corner of 57th stree place and Vine (2 blocks from our house) that the WHOLE yard has something in it and they have it all programmed to a radio station that you can turn on in your car to watch and listen to! It’s about 5 min. long. Very cool! There is also a good area around the 46th street and Eastern Ave area.
    Good luck! I look forward to hearing how your 12 days go!
    Merry Christmas!
    (ps, Jackie….Happy Birthday!) (:o)

    • Thanks Kim! And thanks for the suggestions….I will definitely have to check out those neighborhoods for sure. We should all go together….although not sure how we’d fit all the car seats in one vehicle, plus us! HAHA. 🙂 Anyway, thanks!

  2. Great ideas and I love that someone else is looking forward to celebrating the 12 days of Christmas. Just in case anyone feels overwhelmed about adding one more thing before Christmas I thought I’d share that the 12 days of Christmas actually BEGIN on 12/25 and go until Epiphany when the Maji brought gifts to Jesus. So if you want to really celebrate the season, keep it going until January 6th. 🙂 Merriest of Christmases!

Leave a Reply

