The Lost Art Of Entertraining (And an early Christmas gift)

 

With the holidays right around the corner I want to talk about entertaining, the events that make our family and friends so special.

Entertaining can be a sensitive, unpleasing, stressful event or a creative, enjoyable, and memorable one.

This past weekend I was invited to a holiday party at a friends and it got me thinking, “Why do people dread/avoid entertaining?” Your loved ones love you for who you are and want to spend time with you. Entertaining can be basic, and simple or you can do it up with extravagant centerpieces and a detailed menu, the purpose of entertaining though is to bring people together!!!!

When was the last time you were invited to a dinner party???? It has been awhile right? Doesnt the idea seem fun though-getting out of the house, getting dolled up, and arriving to a menu with festive decor and great companionship!!!! Entertaining has taken a backseat as technology has spread with electronic cards, the social networks, texting and talking on the phone people arent as motivated

It’s time for a change. . . . . . . . . We need to bring our friends and family together! Here are a few tips on bringing back the art of entertaining.

1. Divide up the tasks: Just because you are the host doesnt mean you have to do it all by yourself. Ask others attending the party to bring a bottle of wine, dessert, an appetizer or a great cd of mixed music for the party you will see your to-do list diminish quickly

2. Pinterest: I know I have talked about my love affair (sorry to the Mr.) with it before but seriously if you want a theme, recipe, or invite sample this is the place to go!

3. Get the kids involved: Having the kids jump in to help will create lasting memories for the little ones and they will be excited as the guest arrive. 

The Reluctant Entertainer is one of my favorite blogs about entertaining and the reason I adore this is because she makes entertaining simple, enjoyable, and has great ideas to make your get together stress free!Make sure to check out the blog http://reluctantentertainer.com/ Sandy the creator of this site has decided to give one lucky reader of QCMB an early Christmas gift

An Autographed copy of her new book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

To enter the giveaway please comment below or on our facebook page to the following question? “Why do you cherish entertaining?”

3 thoughts on “The Lost Art Of Entertraining (And an early Christmas gift)

  1. I like to have loved ones over & visit with them. That’s why I cherish entertaining. I love making good memories with good people! 🙂

  2. I love to entertain, we are in fact having a party this weekend! I utilize pinterest too and found so many new recipes for appetizers to try!! Our house is decked out for the holidays and I can’t wait to hang out with some friends and enjoy the weekend. It doesn’t stress me out, I relish the time being a hostess!! Now the next day cleaning up isn’t my favorite but with the help of my husband it gets done!! 😉

Leave a Reply

